Previous Concerts…

Previous Concerts in the 20/21 Virtual Season

Le Chevalier de Saint-Georges

Thursday, April 1 @ 7:30 pm

Saint-George – Symphony in D major, Overture to “L’Amant Anonyme”
Mozart – Overture to Idomeneo
Saint-George – Symphony in G major
Haydn – Allegro con spirit from Symphony No. 86, Paris in D

*This program will be available until April 30, 2021

Joseph Bologne, also known as “Le Chevalier de Saint-Georges” was a remarkable violinist, composer, soldier and athlete. Despite having to deal with the challenges of being a person of mixed race, he was regarded as one of the most impressive figures of 18th century Paris. Among his many accomplishments he had the honour of leading the first performance of Haydn’s Paris symphonies. This program includes music by Saint-Georges, Mozart and Haydn.

(Click on the photo to access the concert.)

Min Plays Mozart

Thursday, March 18 @ 7:30 pm

Tchaikovsky (arr. Tobani) – Andante cantabile
Mozart (arr. Lachner) – Piano Concerto No. 21 in C major
Bartók (arr.Willner) – Romanian Folk Dances

Terence Tam, leader
Lorraine Min, piano

*This program will be available until April 18, 2021

Lorraine Min has been praised by the New York Times for her “impeccable phrase-shaping” and “crystalline sound,” For this program, this local musical treasure is reunited with the orchestra for what is arguably Mozart’s most famous work for keyboard, his Piano Concerto No. 21 in C major. Also included on the program are Tchaikovsky’s Andante Cantabile and Bartók’s Romanian Folk Dances.

(Click on the photo to access the concert).

Beethoven’s Triple Concerto

Thursday, February 18 @ 7:30 pm

Beethoven – Concerto for Violin, Cello, and Piano in C major

Giuseppe Pietraroia, conductor
Terence Tam, violin
Brian Yoon, cello
Lorraine Min, piano

Composed around the same time as his Eroica Symphony, Beethoven’s rarely heard Triple Concerto is often overshadowed by the composer’s more serious work. Scored uniquely for an orchestra and a trio of soloists (violin, cello, and piano), the three movements of this concerto are delightful proof that he was as adept at being charming as he was at being dramatic.

(Click on the photo to access the concert video).

Angela Hewitt Plays Bach

Thursday, November 12 @ 7:30 pm

J.S. Bach – Keyboard Concerto in D minor (BWV 1052)

J.S. Bach – Jesu Joy of Man’s Desiring (Chorale from Cantata 147) (arr. Hess)

Grieg – Holberg Suite

Angela Hewitt, leader & soloist
Terence Tam, leader

(Click on the photo to access the concert video).

Vivaldi’s Four Seasons

Thursday, October 1 @ 7:30 pm

Vivaldi – Four Seasons

Terence Tam, leader

(Click on the photo to access the concert video).

The Victoria Symphony performs on the traditional lands of the Lekwungen peoples and acknowledges with respect the Songhees, Esquimalt and WSÁNEĆ peoples whose historical relationships with the land continues to this day. We extend our appreciation for the opportunity to live, create, and perform on this territory.